IPL Head-to-Head: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings

MI vs CSK is the most anticipated game in the Indian Premier League. This rivalry is often termed as the El-Classico of IPL. The two teams met each other on 32 different occasions (combining the IPL and the CLT20). The two have won a total of nine titles in 14 editions of the tournament. Mumbai Indians is the most successful team in the league with five IPL titles followed by Chennai Super Kings with four titles. 

Mumbai and Chennai are the two biggest metropolitan cities in India. The two cities are the capitals of two of the largest states in India in terms of GDP. The two largest film industries in India – the Hindi Film Industry (Bollywood) and the Tamil Film Industry (Kollywood) are also from these two cities.  

Head-to-Head Records

The two met each other for the first time on April 23, 2008 at the M.A. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. CSK won the thrilling game by six runs. Since then, the two have played against each other on 30 different occasions in the IPL. MI have won 18 of them while CSK have won 12.


Most IPL Titles


Every IPL Match between CSK and MI

20212021 IPLDubaiCSK20 runs
20212021 IPLDelhiMI4 Wickets
20202020 IPLAbu DhabiCSK5 Wickets
20202020 IPLSharjahMI10 Wickets
20192019 IPLMumbaiMI37 runs
20192019 IPLChennaiMI46 runs
20192019 IPLChennaiMI6 Wickets
20192019 IPLHyderabadMI1 Run
20182018 IPLMumbaiCSK1 wicket
20182018 IPLPuneMI8 wickets
20152015 IPLMumbaiCSK6 wickets
20152015 IPLChennaiMI6 wickets
20152015 IPLMumbaiMI25 runs
20152015 IPLKolkataMI41 runs
20142014 IPLDubaiCSK7 wickets
20142014 IPLMumbaiCSK4 wickets
20142014 IPLMumbaiCSK7 wickets
20132013 IPLChennaiMI9 runs
20132013 IPLMumbaiMI60 runs
20132013 IPLDelhiCSK48 runs
20132013 IPLKolkataMI23 runs
20122012 IPLChennaiMI8 wickets
20122012 IPLMumbaiMI2 wickets
20122012 IPLBangaloreCSK38 runs
20122012 CLT20JohannesburgCSK6 runs
20112011 IPLMumbaiMI8 runs
20112011 CLT20ChennaiMI3 wickets
20102010 IPLMumbaiMI5 wickets
20102010 IPLChennaiCSK24 runs
20102010 IPLNavi MumbaiCSK22 runs
20092009 IPLCape TownMI19 runs
20092009 IPLPort ElizabethCSK7 wickets
20082008 IPLChennaiCSK6 runs
20082008 IPLMumbaiMI9 wickets

Also Read:- TATA IPL 2022: Possible Opening Partnership of Kolkata Knight Riders