IPL 2022 Prize Money Revealed: How much will the winner earn?

The 15th edition of IPL is just around the corner with the mega auctions scheduled to take place in February. The biggest and the most expensive cricketing league is returning to its home in 2022. With the addition of new teams in the league-Lucknow and Ahmedabad the number of matches has increased significantly. Around 74 matches are going to be played in the upcoming edition of the IPL. Earlier till 2021, a total of 60 matches were being played. 

Chinese Mobile Manufacturing Company VIVO has been replaced by an Indian multinational company TATA. TATA grabbed the title sponsorships for the 2022 and 2023 editions of the IPL.

The board is planning to start the tournament as early as in March so that the matches do not clash with any International fixtures.

The eight original teams have already submitted their retention list on November 30, 2021. The two new franchises will have to draft a maximum of three players by January 22, 2022. The mega auction is scheduled to take place on February 12th and 13th at the Garden City in Bengaluru. 

Prize Money

Due to the increasing popularity and the addition of new sponsors, the prize money has grown significantly. The Champions of the 2022 season of IPL will receive INR 20 crore. The Runners-up will get INR 13 crore. The third and the fourth placed team will receive INR 7 crores and INR 6.5 crores respectively. According to the latest rules by the IPL, about 50% of the prize money is split amongst the players. 

Apart from it, the orange and purple cap winner will receive INR 15 lakhs each. The emerging player of the season will get INR 20 lakhs while the most valuable reason will get INR 12 crores. 

Runners up₹13,00,00,000
3rd Placed Team₹7,0000,000
4th Placed Team₹6,50,00,000
Power player of the season₹12,00,000
Most valuable player₹12,00,000
Game changer of the season₹12,00,000
Emerging player₹20,00,000
Purple winner₹15,00,000
Orange Cap winner₹15,00,000

Also Read:- IPL Head-to-Head: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings