IPL 2022 Mega Auction: New Teams, Rules, Purse Value and All you need to know

The 15th edition of IPL will be a ten team affair with the addition of two new teams-Lucknow and

Ahmedabad. The eight original franchises have already submitted their retention list on November 30, 2021. So far, the eight original franchises have retained 27 players in total. Out of which, 19 are Indian players and 8 are overseas players. The original franchises were allowed to retain a maximum of four players. Out of which a maximum of three domestic players and two overseas players can be retained.

The two teams are set to submit their list of players by January 22, 2022. The new franchises will have to pick three players (2 Domestic and 1 Overseas). They have to pick the players who have been released by their franchise.

The IPL 2022 mega auctions is going to be a two day affair and is scheduled to take place on February 12th and 13th at the Garden City in Bengaluru.

Earlier this week, the BCCI confirmed TATA as the IPL title sponsor replacing the Chinese Mobile Manufacturing Company VIVO for the next two seasons.

The BCCI has increased the salary purse for all the 10 franchises from INR 85 crores to INR 90 crores.

Remaining Purse Value of all the eight original Franchise:

Chennai Super Kings

Retention List:

  • Ravindra Jadeja (16 crore)
  • MS Dhoni (12 crore)
  • Moeen Ali (8 crore)
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad (6 crore)

Total Deduction: 42 crores

Purse Value Remaining: 48 crores

Mumbai Indians

Retention List:

Total Deduction: 42 crore

Purse Value Remaining: 48 crore

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Retention List:

  • Virat Kohli (15 crore)
  • Glenn Maxwell (11 crore)
  • Mohammad Siraj (7 crore)

Total Deduction: 33 crores

Purse Value Remaining: 57 crores

Delhi Capitals

Retention List:

  • Rishabh Pant (16 crore)
  • Axar Patel (9 crore)
  • Prithvi Shaw (7.5 crore)
  • Anrich Nortje (6.5 crore)

Total Deduction: 42 crores

Purse Value Remaining: 47.5 crore

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Retention List:

  • Kane Williamson (14 crore)
  • Abdul Samad (4 crore)
  • Umran Malik (4 crore)

Total Deduction: 22 crores

Purse Value Remaining: 68 crores

Rajasthan Royals

Retention List:

  • Sanju Samson (14 crore)
  • Jos Buttler (10 crore)
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal (4 crore)

Total Deduction: 28 crores

Purse Value Remaining: 62 crores

Punjab Kings

Retention List:

  • Mayank Agarwal (12 crore)
  • Arshdeep Singh (4 crore)

Total Deduction: 18 crores

Purse Value Deduction: 72 crores

Kolkata Knight Riders

Retention List:

  • Andre Russell (12 crore)
  • Varun Chakraborty (8 crore)
  • Venkatesh Iyer (8 crore)
  • Sunil Narine (6 crore)

Total Deduction: 42 crores

Purse Value Remaining: 48 crores

Mega Auction Rules

According to the latest rules by BCCI, an IPL 2022 team can have a maximum of 25 plays per team. A minimum of 18 players have to be there in each team. A maximum of 8 overseas players can be picked up by each team.

The 8 original teams can retain a maximum of four players (maximum 3 domestic and maximum 2 overseas). The two new teams can pick a maximum of three players (maximum 2 domestic and maximum 1 overseas).

Also Read:- IPL Head-to-Head: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings